Like I don’t have enough to do already. . .

This is the excerpt for your very first post.

I’ve thought about starting a blog for a while now but I keep going back and forth between “Wow! That’s a great idea I should share it with other people.” to “Who in the world wants to read about your life and what you do? I don’t even want to relive it long enough to write it down! Ha ha!”So I decided that, with Christmas break coming up, I would try it out and see how I like it.

Anyways, an intro to ME! My name is Ali and I am a prek teacher from South Carolina! I have a class of 13 4-year-olds this year. There are 2 other teachers in my grade level and they are phenomenal, I don’t know what I would do without my team! We are in transition to a more Reggio inspired classroom and curriculum. We started at the beginning of the year in August and it has been quite an adventure! Β Last summer we got a new director for our center (honestly I can’t say enough good things about her) she came to us from a Reggio inspired preschool in SC. Once my team and I heard that she came from a Reggio background we started researching it and fell in love. And once we spoke with her about it we knew we had to start implementing aspects if it as soon as we could!

I don’t claim to be an expert on Reggio by any means but for those who don’t know much about it; it’s a more natural approach to teaching where the classroom is the third teacher (after the parents and you). What you teach goes along with what interests the child. The children are seen as capable learners, which they are. I have a board on Pinterest dedicated to Reggio classroom and got a lot of my info from pins on there.

Leave a Reply

